Topic Summarization and Categorization with GPT

Use GPT-3.5 API for text analytics to categorize and summarize data science blog posts

Yu Dong
10 min readMay 25, 2024

TL;DR

In this article, I will describe how to use the Open AI API to analyze and categorize over 500 data science blogs I’ve read since 2021. It covers code examples of utilizing Function Calling for consistent API output format, analysis of my evolving reading interests, and practical industry applications.

This was originally posted on my blog here in March 2024.

GPT Generated Image of a Text Analytics Bot :)

Context

Since 2021, I’ve dedicated Friday and Sunday nights to reading data science blogs, aiming for four to five each week. I summarize noteworthy articles on my blog bi-monthly (linked here). Recently, I’ve noticed an uptick in blogs related to LLM, sparking my curiosity about other trends in my reading habits. To analyze this, I realized I needed a categorized record of my past readings. Fortunately, GPT is here to assist!

Topic Extraction with GPT

ChatGPT excels in text analytics, efficiently summarizing and categorizing text. In the section below, I will walk through how I used the OpenAI API to call the gpt-3.5-turbo model for this task. While GPT-3.5 was chosen for cost…

--

--